Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

The Singer of Courage

on April 7, 2013

I have a personal ritual that I follow every morning to get my day to always have a spiritual slant, and also makes me feel protected and connected.

First I’ll meditate, usually for ten minutes, sometimes maybe for longer if I don’t need to rush for work or anything else. I do this using my MP3 player, and I’ll let the next track play afterwards to make it my ‘song of the day’.

Then I sit in front of my altar, (it’s basically a household unit I use as one). I’ll light a candle for the Goddess in front of a statue of Bast (the Egyptian cat Goddess), and one for the God, in front of an image of the Green Man and ask them to help me walk the path of perfect love and trust.

I then, pick a card from two card decks- my main deck which is The Faery Oracle designed by Brian Froud and Rune Oracle cards by Silver Ravenwolf and Nigel Jackson. These cards are a guide for my day ahead. Then I’ll end by writing a prayer for the day ahead to the God and Goddess and thank them for anything particular I’ve received on the previous day or that I’m just feeling grateful for generally at that moment.

A faery card that has been particularly important and relevant lately is ‘The Singer of Courage’  The singers are the highest level of faery, and have very important lessons to teach us. ‘The Singer of Courage’ teaches us to seek the truth behind our fears. What are we really afraid of?

Courage has been something I’ve needed a lot in the last few weeks. To some extent, this year. With the spiritual group, I’ve had do some things that were a bit out of my comfort zone- in particular talking to a large group of people.

Work has been challenging recently as I mentioned in my previous blog, and I needed to face the fears I’ve had over it- worried that my boss would be angry with me as things hadn’t gone very well while he had been away. Eventually I had to accept that I didn’t need to take the blame for that, and that the fears I was creating my head were really irrational. I just had to let it go and accept that I can’t always be in control of things that happen around me.

Then, in the group this week, I was taken the most out of my comfort zone so far. We had all had to bring words to a personal ‘Power Song’. A song that makes us want to sing, dance, makes us feel good and has meaning to us in some way. We all spoke about our songs but then we had to sing! Every person had to sing at least a little. I was quite surprised that I managed to sing a little- and well as it happens the lyrics were very relevant even for the situation! My choice was Gossip- Move in the Right Direction. I sang this bit:

“One step closer, feeling fine, getting better one day at a time, I’m moving forward with all of my might, I’m headed towards a new state of mind. So I’ll hold back tears- move in the right direction, face my fears- move in the right direction. I won’t lose my mind, my mind.”

Image

2 responses to “The Singer of Courage

  1. […] 4.The Singer of Courage (April 2013)- I wrote something about confidence and courage. […]

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

