Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

Unconditional Giving

on June 2, 2013

For the spiritual group homework before I went on holiday we got given for me what was probably the hardest one so far. The task was to give away £6 to a stranger. £6 as the people that run the group were on holiday the same week as us and that’s how much the class is, so you weren’t really ‘losing’ it as you would have to pay that usually anyway. You couldn’t give it to a charity or leave it as a tip, it had to be a complete stranger too.

As we were on holiday I have to admit that I didn’t really think of it that much to begin with. On the last day, I thought I was probably going to give it to someone after we got home- maybe to a homeless person or something like that.

Then on that last day, on our way to finding some lunch, I heard this lady singing. When I looked, she had a massive smile on her face and was holding banners that said ‘Jesus Loves You’ We walked away, but I was thinking how wonderful it was to see someone being so happy about their faith. In Southend, we usually have preachers shouting in the highstreet about how we’re all going to go to Hell if we don’t become Christian. This woman wasn’t like that. I knew I had to give the money to her.

Luckily when we walked back, the lady was still there, talking to someone. I was really nervous but when she stopped talking I went over and gave her the money. She started talking to me in Dutch, I told her I was English, so she spoke to me again and she told me that she had given almost the same amount of money to a homeless person for food that morning so it was like she was getting it back! She accepted it without question, but not in a greedy way. It made me realise that although I like to think I’m tolerant of other people’s religions I may have some preconceptions about some, thinking anyone that is Christian will have a far different outlook on life to what I have. But that wasn’t the case with this woman- she was Christian, but she clearly was happy and celebrated her faith like I do with mine, and the fact she accepted my gift was like she knew karma was returning to her for giving money herself earlier that day. And again that’s like me, I do good things not questioning it, because I know it will come back to me in some way. It was an important lesson in tolerance and understanding, not judging all people as the same if they come under a particular category.

One response to “Unconditional Giving

  1. Cath says:

    Aw, this is so nice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner's WordPress Blog

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

