Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

The Madeline Rust Interview

on July 9, 2013

How would you describe the music of The Madeline Rust?

Lucy: Dark psychedelic cowboy grunge.
Aly: I once described it as the sound of a 1980s serial killer picking up two Co-Eds in his muscle car as he drives through the desert, with Black Sabbath on the car radio. I guess i’d say epic western ambient dreamy shoegaze hard rock,.
Martin: Dirty grunge that a serial killer would be playing while digging holes in the desert.

How did you meet? where are you all from?

Lucy: Aly and I are from Nottingham and have been in bands together since school. In our first band, in which I played guitar and Aly played drums, we used to commandeer the tiny music room over lunch time, playing Nirvana covers to an audience of our mates. Dinner ladies used to prise the door open, only to find a bunch of sweaty headbanging kids, squashed into this space; three kids under the upright piano, four on top… But they always let us carry on, for some reason.
Martin: I am from Jersey in the Channel Islands, I moved to Nottingham and met Lucy at a mutual friends wedding, She introduced me to Aly, after a false start with a couple of other people we managed to get the band together.

What’s the story behind the name?

Aly: I once had a dream about a monstrous little girl in victorian dress with a really really long, 6 foot wavy neck like a snake, who spied on me. When I asked who she was, she said “i’m Madeline Rust”. A decade later we found ourselves stuck for a name, so we decided that was it. We added the definite article to avoid (or attempt to avoid) people thinking L was “Madeline”. Our previous band had a girl’s name in it, and L was always called that. She didn’t enjoy it.

Any new singles/releases coming up?

Lucy: We’re planning on recording something new in late summer, which we’re really excited about! Our last recording session was for the Christmas EP, This Time Next Year (actually, only this first song is Christmas-themed), and we had a great time recording this with our recording engineer Richard Solaini (AKA Louis: http://louismusic.net/tag/richard-solaini/

 

). We tried to get as many Christmas clichés as we could into the finished product. The music video, filmed by John and Tom Turrell (http://vimeo.com/turrellbros

 

), can be seen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Wvg04WIosI
Aly: We’re also possibly doing a vinyl release at some point soon, which will be a dream come true for us.
Also we set up a record label so we could release our stuff. Although the only thing that’s happened so far is I made myself a t shirt with the logo on it. It looks badass, as our minister of Art & propaganda Mr Gavin Morrow designed it.

Any gigs coming up?

Lucy: We had a flurry of gigs in May/June, and are having a short break while we write some new stuff and do some recording, but we’re back for the Amazement festival in early September and you can get all the latest gig news on our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/themadelinerust

Who/what are your influences?

Lucy: I can find something to love about most genres of music, so it’s hard to pinpoint particular influences. I guess the obvious influences are from the grunge scene; Nirvana, Hole, Pixies… But there are other influences from 60s pop, 70s rock, punk, country… My lyrics are mostly inspired by past relationships, ghost towns, movies and murders.

Martin:
For me Phil Lynott from Thin Lizzy and as a band I think we all probably wish Lemmy was our Dad

Aly: L and I share a lot of the same influences – we grew up together so we’re musically fairly similar. I prefer Bakersfield country to Nashville though, and never liked Van Morrison like L does.
I listen to a lot of Pink Floyd, Tool, Nirvana, 60s girl group stuff, Doo-Wop… for my guitar sound, I guess the main influences are Pink Floyd, Type O Negative, M83, O’Brother, and a wee bit of Arcade Fire. Martin and I cross over in the harder rock area, DOWN, Red Fang, stuff like that. I grew up on Scottish and Irish Folk music from my parents though. So yeah, it’s all a mix.

where can people keep up to date/buy your music?
Our facebook is where we spend most time (www.facebook.com/themadelinerust). We occasionally upload shoddy self-recorded demos to our soundcloud – https://soundcloud.com/the-madeline-rust

 

and the stuff we release is sold or given away on www.themadelinerust.bandcamp.com

 

if there’s one thing you would want people to gain from listening to your music, what would it be?

Martin: I love it when people see us live and leave with a massive smile on their faces because we are nothing like they expected us to be.
Aly: I have no idea. A sense of space and emotion? Is that too pretentious to print? I think it might be… let’s say happiness. No, that’s too hippie. Lucy, help me out here
Lucy: A sense of unease. Tee hee.

One response to “The Madeline Rust Interview

  1. Rachel Knowler says:

    Wow, The Madeline Rust sound fantastic. I can’t listen to their music at work but I’ll check them out as soon as I get in tonight! I really love the story of how they got their name – spooky dreams can be the best source of inspiration. > WordPress.com > djmoonlight posted: “How would you describe the music of The Madeline > Rust?Lucy: Dark psychedelic cowboy grunge.Aly: I once described it as > the sound of a 1980s serial killer picking up two Co-Eds in his muscle > car as he drives through the desert, with Black Sabbath on the ca” >

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Eric Carlson (awolsurfer)

Building a Business While Still Having a Life...

