Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

End of First Week Working with Sound Of Paper

on January 11, 2014

I have been working with the book- Sound of Paper by Julia Cameron for the last week in the hope to inspire and reawaken my love of writing.

there are a few things she recommends to do as you’re working with this book, and this is how I did this week:

morning pages-(daily practice) writing three pages of stream of conciousness asap when you wake up. I did these all but one day (the day I got the book out as it was afternoon). I only did one day that it was the very first thing I did, and on the other days it was about an hour after I woke up as I work very early in the morning and couldn’t do any sooner. I think so far I have mostly moaned about work in them!

artist dates (once a week)- I actually did two this week that weren’t intended. On the first day I went to the library and had a good browse, then on Sunday I went for a long walk and fully listened to a new album I had bought recently. (an artist date is a date you take yourself on to indulge your creative side).

walks- 1 hour once a week- did this the day I did the artist date, two or three 20 minute walks a week- I didn’t do any specifically although it takes me roughly that time to get to work and back.

I’ve been trying to do the exercises attached to the essays daily, but I missed one day due to going out so I will do two today. I’ve had to skip a few for now and come back to them later.

The first one I’ve done today is ‘The Storm’ exercise, which was to go for a short walk and note any insights, etc that come up. I done this today as I walked home from work. I usually use affirmations but I just let my mind chatter which was really a lot, mainly because I had a stressful few hours at work, so this was what I noted that I thought: (I don’t think it was particularly inspirational on this occasion)

“that was stressful. I don’t like working Saturdays anymore. I have a headache. Why do people insist on taking up the whole pavement and not moving? why do cars always speed along down this road? Oh look a magpie! My friend Maria lives there. I wonder where all those bird chirping noises are coming from? wonder if the sparrows are in that tree again? No they aren’t, how disappointing. I saw lots of sparrows this morning. I wonder if that person who came into work remember who I was- it was a long time ago. My mind is so busy, no wonder I do affirmations! Those boys looked like they were drug dealing, but they looked so young, and one just spat on the floor- eww. I wonder where that woman was running to, she looked like she was in a hurry. nearly home- good. there’s a lot of wood pigeons about today.”

the funny thing was when I went out again later, I kept hearing funny conversations or noticing random things like a girl with a book in her bag called “living corpses” and I kind of wish I had been recording it all!

my extra exercise is ‘Wishes come true’

I need to write 20 wishes I have.

  1. I wish to have another job
  2. I wish I had a bit more money
  3. I wish I could do healing for a living
  4. I wish we had a successful business
  5. I wish I could go to Glastonbury
  6. I wish I could go to Three Wishes faery festival
  7. I wish I could go to Gaunts House
  8. I wish I had a bit more free time to do things I want to do
  9. I wish I wasn’t feeling so tired
  10. I wish I had more clothes
  11. I wish people would call me sometimes
  12. I wish I got my hair cut
  13. I wish I was more confident
  14. I wish I had more fun
  15. I wish I was louder
  16. I wish I was a better cook
  17. I wish I knew what to write
  18. I wish I could publish a book
  19. I wish I could do charity work
  20. I wish I could buy all the things I need

 

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Eric Carlson (awolsurfer)

Building a Business While Still Having a Life...

