Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

Wild Mind: Dying

on February 18, 2014

Today’s writing prompt from Wild Mind: is write everything you know about dying.

It’s interesting that it would be today that I do this particular prompt as Miguel has started the second part of his shamanic training on the Medicine Wheel this year, which is the West, which is all about facing fear and today as part of the training he had to experience himself ‘dying’ in order to be reborn.

Anyway so because of this it has made me think of dying and death a bit recently. I don’t really feel frightened by it, but I don’t really think about it either, I just know it will happen one day. We were talking about the songs we would want played at our funerals and stuff like that. There are two I have thought of:

this is my favourite song ever, and it makes me think of going away to wherever you go, and spending it happy.

Patti Smith as she is one of my biggest inspirations, this is probably one of my favourite songs by her.

“here I go and I don’t know why,
I spin so ceaselessly,
’til I lose my sense of gravity…”

Also whether you would want to be buried or cremated. I always thought I would want to be buried, so there would be a gravestone people could visit me at, but having seen this recently, I want my ashes to be used to help me grow a tree! I’d want to be a willow tree. Maybe with a bench put underneath with a plaque, where people could live flowers if they wanted to. I spotted this the other day when I went for a walk, and I thought it was beautiful. You can’t really see the plaque but it mentions the person spent many happy hours in this garden. How wonderful this bench was put there for this lady.

Image

I guess I don’t feel afraid of death because of my beliefs. I don’t really believe when we die that we just “go”. I don’t believe in Heaven or Hell either. I believe very much in reincarnation, and that our soul travels from body to body until we reach a life where we reach perfect spiritual enlightenment then we go to the ‘Summerland’ a place where the highest souls go when their work on Earth is done. 

I haven’t experienced much death either really. There are two people in my life that were close to me in some way that have died. My granddad, who died of Cancer. It was so sad to see the life slowly disappearing from him the last time I saw him alive, and the only funeral I have been to (so far). Then a few years ago it was my friend Miranda, she was not even 30 years old. She was found in the river Thames, suspected suicide. I felt so bad as we hadn’t been in touch for a few years, then I found out by seeing her face on the cover of the local paper. I found it really hard to take in for a while. You know this stuff happens, but you never expect it to happen to people in your own life, and then when it does, you don’t know how to feel. I felt numb. You wish you could have helped them.

Death is sad, and devastating, and tragic. It can break your heart and turn your life completely upside down. But if you look at the ‘Death’ card in a tarot pack, it doesn’t just represent endings, it also represents new beginnings. Things eventually end, and not always the way we want it to (in fact most of the time not the way we want it to)! but generally it’s the endings that clears the way for fresh new starts- the caterpillar turns into a butterfly, the duckling turns into a swan, a baby is born…

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Eric Carlson (awolsurfer)

Building a Business While Still Having a Life...

