Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

NaPoWrimo!

on April 6, 2014

I’ve been suffering from a long term issue of Writer’s Block. So I’ve decided to try and take the challenge of writing one poem a day for this month! https://www.facebook.com/napowrimo/info  So far I’ve missed two days (but I’m then writing two on the next day) and I have struggled a little bit but here is how it has turned out so far..

Day 1- Pharmacy Life

Just another day working at the pharmacy
time to pick out medicines carefully
at the back in the dispensary
trying to remember generic medicine names by memory
dispensing prescriptions for all sorts of conditions and addictions
sometimes I feel like I’m in a sea of green
sometimes you have to try to decipher what doctors mean
you wouldn’t believe all the names I’ve seen
as I tap tap tap on the computer
all these medicines that should make it all better
do you pay for your prescription?
Just tick your exemption on the back
and sign your name, just at the bottom here
I’m often doing blister packs
popping out pills
but I’m sure the patients aren’t getting any thrills
morning, lunchtime and bedtime
this is my working rhyme
when did you bring your prescription in sir?
Let me check the shelf
did you bring it in yourself?
This is my working rhyme
because that’s how I spent my working week time
just another day at the pharmacy
trying to dispense medicines artfully

Day 2- Through the eyes of a Cat

as soon as you’re awake
I’ll be at your feet
twisting round your legs
feed me, feed me, feed me
don’t you know I haven’t been fed since yesterday?
I see you’re at the cupboard now
even louder I’ll miaow
hurry up, hurry up, hurry up
don’t I know I’ve got things to do? Fur to shed?
Now I’m fed
it’s time for bed
where should I sleep today?
on the sofa or perhaps on the table?
or wherever I might just get in the way
now and then I might stare out the window
or give the scratching post a go
when you’re sad, I’ll sit on your lap
maybe even squeeze in another nap
I am a cat
isn’t it time you give me a pat?

Day 3

What is the moon?
Is it a reminder of time passing?
A timepiece of the sky
Reminding us of cycles
new to full
waxing and waning
much like our lives
incoming and outgoing
relationships, jobs, friendships
old ones out, and new ones in
what is the moon?
Just another planet
or something beautiful we take for granted?

Day 4

Take a look in the mirror
it will make things much clearer
look inside yourself and see the truth
can you remember what you were like in your youth
can you see a resemblance
maybe it’s time to put it in balance

Day 5

oh the magic of crystals
so much more than pretty minerals
a piece of amethyst
can make you into a spiritual activist
a selenite wand
to help you go beyond
some tumble stones to get you into balance
obisidian to overcome a challenge
beautiful and powerful
bright colours and sparkle
what a fascinating world
that has unfurled…

Day 6

what ever did we do without facebook?
Did we give the same people a second look?
How did we go without twitter?
Without feeling bitter?
Now our lives are on a blog
there’s not much of a fog
between what is real and what is for show
we no longer go with the flow
instead relying on facebooks events
to keep us in the know
no space to grow
everything is in the public domain
we’ve all got so vain
is it time we turned it off
or are now so reliant
there’s no way to be defiant

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner's WordPress Blog

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

