Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

Day 3: Writing 101

on June 4, 2014

The three most important songs in my life and what do they mean to me?

 

There are so many amazing songs in the world, it’s very hard to think of just three! But here are three that do mean a lot to me.

Feeder- High

Feeder aren’t even one of my favourite bands but this song is just so beautiful and is my favourite song of all time. I actually want this song played at my funeral. It somehow seems appropriate.. “I’m going out for a while,
So I can get high with my friends,
I will,
I’m going out for a while,
Don’t wait up cause I won’t be home,
Today.”

This song seems to be about being confronted by thoughts and also by time “I’m counting the lines on my face again”) and the narrator is trying to escape the seriousness of life. This song also makes me think of the first gig I went to with my husband which was Feeder at Brixton Academy.

 

Patti Smith- Dancing Barefoot

I couldn’t have a favourite song list without including Patti Smith and yes I also mentioned in my blog before about having this at my funeral! Patti Smith is one of my heroes. I absolutely adore her. Not just as a musician but as a poet and activist. She inspires me a lot in my work. I was so happy to get to see her live in 2012, and we were right in the front. She came round and touched everybody’s hands. It sounds ridiculous but I felt like I had been touched by an angel. It was honestly the best gig I’ve ever been to.

This song also makes me think of my connection to the Goddess and my spirituality. she is re-creation
she, intoxicated by thee
she has the slow sensation that
he is levitating with she …

here I go and I don’t know why,
I spin so ceaselessly,
’til I lose my sense of gravity…

 

Robots in Disguise- GIRL

This band has meant so much to me too! Sadly they no longer seem to be performing together although they are both performing solo material. I’ve been to see them live many times, and they always put on a great show. They were always creative with their outfits and they really interacted with their fans. I’ve also had the opportunity to meet them and interview them which is something I will never forget. They are an amazing band for any girl to listen to and feel inspired. This song particularly is very feminist.

 

 

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner's WordPress Blog

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

