Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

30 Day Blogging Challenge: Day 3- 10 Simple Meditation/Calming techniques

on October 26, 2014

So I’m actually two days late with my day 3 post, as I’ve been really busy the last two days and not had the time to do it! I also realised that the challenge is more aimed at businesses, however I’ve decided to carry on with it anyway, as a challenge to a writer, and I don’t think I can manage to do NaNoWriMo this year so this seems like an easier, more manageable alternative.

Something I’ve noticed people taking more of an interest in lately is mediation. I have been into meditation for years, it took me a while to make it a habit, but now I meditate daily, even if it’s only for five minutes. There are lots of simple techniques you can use, and it does and WILL have a positive impact on your life. I thought for today’s blog I would list some simple things you can try, which will also be good for calming and relaxing. You can do these any time of day you like and if you choose to, you could even do some of these while going around your daily business!

1. The Simple Breath Count Meditation- Breath in, count “one’ breath out, breath in  count ‘two’, breath out, breath in, count ‘three’ breath out and start again from one. Continue for how long you like.

2. The ‘Death’ Breath- thanks to my friend Crystal for teaching me this one. Take a deep breath in through the nose and as you breath in count 1, 2, 3, hold the breath, count 1, 2, 3, breath out through the mouth and as you breathe out, count 1, 2, 3 and hold for 1, 2, 3 and repeat.

3. Breath meditation. Hold the breath for about 3-5 seconds, and then try to make your out breath a bit longer- so maybe 7-10 seconds. Repeat.

4. Mantra mediation. Pick a word- maybe ‘love’ or ‘peace’, with every breath in say the word you have chosen in your mind and repeat.

5. Imagine you are breathing in love, and breathing out negativity.

6. Affirmations. Make a positive affirmation, one of the ones I use is ‘I am worthy and deserving’ – always make sure they are positive rather than a negative- so NOT- “I am not sad” but “I am happy and joyous”. Repeat the affirmation on each breath in.

7. Candle flame. With your eyes open concentrate on the light of a candle flame. Just watch and become adsorbed.

8. Crystal meditation. If you have any crystals, you can hold one in your hands while meditating on lay a few on yourself. Basic crystal knowledge to come on another blog post.

9.  Visualise. Do you have a goal you would like to achieve? Imagine this happening to you in all it’s glory. Try to “see” what it would look like, how does it feel, where would you be, every detail you can imagine.

10. Sit quietly and list in your mind everything you are grateful for in this moment. Even the things that seem small. Did you wake up today? That’s a great start!

Feel free to ask questions in the comments 🙂

2 responses to “30 Day Blogging Challenge: Day 3- 10 Simple Meditation/Calming techniques

  1. I have struggled to get into meditation. The only one I’ve found helpful is guided. It clears my mind because I can just sit an listen to someone talking!

  2. […] 10 Simple Meditation/Calming Techniques- basic techniques to help you learn to meditate. […]

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Eric Carlson (awolsurfer)

Building a Business While Still Having a Life...

