Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

30 Day Blogging Challenge Day 12: Inspiration

on November 5, 2014

Today I’ve decided to write about someone who really inspires me. I think if I had to pick my top inspirational person, it would be the musician and poet Patti Smith.

Why does inspire me? As a writer and a poet myself, I am completely in awe of her beautiful poetic lyrics. I’m currently reading her book ‘Just Kids‘  and she did actually originally start off as a poet, with no aspirations of being a musician. It wasn’t until one of her first public poetry readings that someone suggested she had someone put music to her poetry. She had a friend play guitar along with it and soon became a performance poet.

Eventually she also became a musician…

Not only I am a great admirer of her lyrics, poetry and music, I also admire her for being a fellow activist. She has done many anti war events and of course wrote protest songs.

I was lucky enough to see her perform live in 2012, and honestly it was the best gig I have ever been up to. her beautiful, inspiring music and an inspiring speech about everyone having the right to pray in the way in choose, at the time a reference to then political prisoners Pussy Riot.

FxCam_1347566089290

Honestly I love her so much, I could post many more videos into this post to show you how great she is, but we’d be here all day! 🙂

3 responses to “30 Day Blogging Challenge Day 12: Inspiration

  1. Sarah Arrow says:

    Thank you for sharing Patti Smith, and her story. It seems like poets are really passionate people.

  2. lottiewishnetwork says:

    Great post – the musician who inspires me the most is Mike Scott

  3. Moongazer says:

    Because the night has long been one of my all time favourite songs. It gives me goosebumps!
    Thank you for posting this 🙂

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Eric Carlson (awolsurfer)

Building a Business While Still Having a Life...

