Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

30 Day Blogging Challenge Day 23: Overcoming Writer’s Block!

on November 20, 2014

Oh my Goddess, the dreaded writers block! Honestly I seem to suffer with this a lot. I used to write constantly, I would have poems flying through my mind often. Now it’s very rare occurrence! Today I’ve been asked how I deal with writers or bloggers block and I wish I was full of advice, but I am a big term sufferer of it, so I feel I am not really qualified to give advice!

One thing I have noticed I do ironically enough, is to write poems about it! So rather than try to dispense advice, I will share my poetry with you!

Lifetime of Words

As you get older,
do the words grow colder?
what once came pouring out
now I’m lucky if I get the odd spout
looking back, it makes me feel proud
I wish my inspiration now could be so loud
The words would form beautiful patterns
Now I search for them like hidden treasure
Locked somewhere deep beneath
It’s like to unlock them would be a forbidden sin
Come out, Come out, wherever you are
Wherever you are, surely you can’t be far?

27/1/13

a small wish

I need the words back
the words I used to know
please bring them back to me
so holy and free
please help me to see
what’s right in front of me
it’s there all along
just learn the words to the song
beautiful words
where have you been
it’s been so long
there’s still more
it’s hidden at the core
your base core
needs to identify
needs to verify
pen to paper
let it flow
let it go, let it out
you know it’s in there
just set it free

19/10/12

Inspiration

Inspiration
Standing at the pearly gates
but this isn’t Heaven
this is the blank, blank sheet
staring at me, teasing me
waiting for me to fill it
with juicy words
perhaps even men with swords
fairies, angels, vampires or even just ordinary people
waiting for me to direct their narrative

But I’m struggling to open the gate
and the page remains white
no words seem quite right
the lines blur
as thoughts start to occur
letters begin to form
and a new life is born.

The gate has been unlocked
and all I had to do is knock
the words have returned
like a long lost friend
what was once broken, is now on the mend
welcome back
I promise this time, I won’t give you the sack.

21/10/12

Writers Block

No inspiration
Nothing to wow the nation
A lack of words
Just a blank blank canvas
No ideas
Too many fears
Unusable ink
Just a pen with no use
No feelings
Love and sadness have been overused
A lack of earthshattering news
Just another writer’s block.
31/01/01

Writers Block 2

Needing to be inspired, want to write
but what to write?
Would it be any better if I tried at night?
A story, a poem, some meaningful lyrics
I wish I could find these words
hidden in my soul
Instead I’m left with a gaping hole
A great blank space waiting to be filled
It’s like the muses lips are sealed
They’re holding the key
But I can’t seem to grasp it
It’s out of my reach
All I can do is sit and wait
to get connected to the source
but I can’t find the switch.

24/1/10

so quite a bit! and here are some things that have inspired to write in the past (and recent past too)!:  The Palestine demo I went to in London this year, a soul retrieval I experienced, witchfest!, my jobs, a break up, social networking, friendships, the spiritual group I was part of last year

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Eric Carlson (awolsurfer)

Building a Business While Still Having a Life...

