Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

Counter Culture UK Book has been released!

on October 24, 2015

You may remember if you read my blog regularly that earlier this year I was working on a chapter about feminism for a book called Counter Culture UK. A couple of weeks ago the book was released and I was able to attend the event in London.

What an interesting evening, even before we got to the venue of the book launch. My husband and I decided to go into London a bit earlier so we could have some food and have a little look in London beforehand. First we went to Mysteries, a great spiritual shop in Convent Garden, where I got myself a ‘Stonehenge’ crystal, basically it’s made of the same stone as Stonehenge, and as soon as I picked it up I knew I had to have it!

Then we went to have something to eat, there was a place that was listed on Happy Cow as being vegan friendly on St Martins Lane, the same road the launch was at, so we checked it out, and we had a very tasty meal that was basically Egyptian street food.

DSC_0685

Then, we still had time to kill so we walked over to the nearby Leicester Square, and it turned out that the premier of ‘Suffragette’ was on, which itself was interesting enough but when we got nearer we could see there was a feminist protest going on. We stood near by and I had a look at the material they were handing out, the protest was by ‘Sisters Uncut’ and was about cuts to domestic abuse services. While we were there, it soon kicked off as they started chanting and setting off smoke bombs in Suffragette colours- purple and green. This part of the protest was quite far back but we later found out that the rest of the protest that was closer to the cinema, managed to storm the red carpet. You can read about it here if you haven’t already. I had to be practically dragged away as I wanted to join in the protest! The only downside was seeing another protest on the way back to St Martins Lane, which was anti abortion. But the Sisters Uncut protest was a synchocity, as it linked perfectly with my chapter!

DSC_0691 DSC_0694

We got to the venue which was at a private members club, we got given a token for a free drink and met our friend Helene upstairs. We sat and chatted for a bit before we got invited to come into a smaller room where first there was a brief introduction about the book before we were treated to poetry and spoken word from two of the contributors- Ben Graham (Chapter on Literature) and Penny Pepper (Chapter on Disability and Activism). I particularly enjoyed Penny’s performance. Afterwards we could just socialize and I picked up my copies of the book.

DSC_0697

I only got a few copies so I had to be very selective who I gave them too and obviously i would have loved to give a copy to everyone but I know a lot more than 5 people! Anyway, if you would like a copy, please go to Supernova and buy a copy there to support independent publishers here

Once you’ve read it, I’d love to hear your feedback 🙂

DSC_0698 20151007_194521

One response to “Counter Culture UK Book has been released!

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Part-Time Monster

I eat books for breakfast.

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner's WordPress Blog

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

