Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

She Writes Poetry 2016

on January 30, 2016

You remember in my new years day post that I said I didn’t really have any specific writing goals for the year. Well, that kind of changed! I saw an invitation on Instagram by Beth Morey to take part in a poetry project.

What Beth, myself and lots of other women are taking part in is a poetry project called ‘She Writes Poetry 2016’ what we’re all doing is using a book called ‘The Daily Poet’ and attempting to write a poem every day of the year using the prompts in the book!

It sounded like fun, and I thought it might help get my creative juices going since although I have been writing a bit each year, I’m not writing as many poems as I used to, and I do find prompts helpful!

Now I haven’t managed to write a poem every single day this month, but I have at least tried every single day. So I’ll share with you highlights each month on those I think are worth sharing. So here are the ones I liked from January, some might need a bit more tweaking but I’m happy overall.

New Year

This year

My only expectation

is manifestation

manifest happiness, friendship and joy

manifest adventures, oh boy!

Dreams can come true, I will make them possible

Let there be no obstacle

I will achieve

all I’ve got up my sleeve

resolution is the solution

the year is 2016

and this year I will be the best I’ve ever been!

She breathes

She breathes, she lives

so why do we throw litter on the ground?

she breathes, she lives

so why do we keep killing all her wildlife?

she breathes, she lives

so why do we cover her glorious bounty in dangerous chemicals?

she breathes, she lives

we breathe, we live

she breathes, she lives

we can eat, we can drink

all because

she breathes, she lives

mother earth, gaia, pachamama

she breathes, she lives

but she won’t live forever

if we don’t get it together

so take the time today

to make sure she is okay

one step at a time

we can make things go the right way

so she breathes, she lives…

Breath

Breathe in, breathe out

take it all in

let it all go

breathe in, breathe out

feel your tummy rise

feel your tummy fall

breathe in, breathe out

concentrate on your chest

concentrate on your abdomen

breathe in, breathe out

this is our mantra

from yoga to tantra

breathe in, breathe out

why? because it’s our sacred essence

each breath we take is a blessing

so remember to

breathe in, breathe out

especially if you’re stressing

then you’ll regain focus

there is no hocus pocus

just simply

breathe in, breathe out.

Nightmare

Once I had a waking dream

my bedroom was filled with toys

sounds like that would be great

the only thing is the toys were evil

literally tearing the wallpaper off the walls

still I wonder to this day

why did I dream this dream

meaning of it, is lost on me

evil toys just attacking my room

more like a horror film, but I wasn’t the victim

maybe one day I’ll know

when I begin to remember my dreams once again.

Soft Monster

My cheeks flush crimson red

a critical voice starts talking in my head

“You can’t do this!”

like a snake hiss

my legs begin to shake

I start to feel like a fake

“I’m not good enough”

my throat starts to feel rough

this is my soft monster inside of me

I’d rather not be

she knows the best times to strike fear

wanting me to shed a tear

but one day I said “No more!”

this monster has become a bore

you are not real

I really can deal

the monster faded away

I could face another day

be who I want to be

and be amazing, just you wait and see!

Twins

They were on in the same
in more than just name
I am she, I am he
I am they

One day a girl, one day a boy
either way they felt joy
I am she, I am he
I am they

Gender is more than just what’s between your legs
Who says we have to sit so nicely on pegs?
I am she, I am he
I am they

Be who you want to be
It doesn’t matter what they see
I am she, I am he,
I am they

Fly high, no need to sigh
I am she, I am he
I am they
They were one in the same….

 

any feedback appreciated 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Eric Carlson (awolsurfer)

Building a Business While Still Having a Life...

