Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

30 Days Wild-Final Week and What I learnt

on June 30, 2016

Day 23

DSC_0015

On Day 23 I looked into becoming what’s known as a citizen scientist. Citizen scientists help provide vital research and there’s lots of nature based projects to be found. I signed up for ‘Birdtrack’ and ‘Nature’s calendar’ I haven’t quite got it all sussed out yet but one is for bird spotting and the other is to record signs of season change.

Day 24

IMG_20160624_192831

On day 24, I walked through Churchill gardens on my way to work and tried to ‘spot a mammal’ and I did! Just about managed to catch this cutie before he scurried away!

Day 25

Day 25 was my birthday! and I had a ‘wild’ day! I spent it with some friends helping out Tower Hill Stables/animal sanctuary. We painted a fence for them and also got to spend a little time with the animals too! I really connected with the horses that day. They are sooo beautiful! Throughout the day in travel time I also saw an egret, wild rabbits, a pheasant and some birds of prey!

Day 26

DSC_0042_1

I had a bit of a ‘chill’ day after such an active day 25. So I decided to see what wildlife I could spot from our back window. I saw seagulls, collared doves, pigeons, sparrows, blackbirds, a few flies, a black cat, crows and magpies! Considering we live near a main road, we do spot some interesting wildlife sometimes. We have seen jays in our car park before! and yesterday my partner saw a Sparrow hawk on our balcony!

Day 27

demo

on Day 27, I went to my first ‘Essex Pig Save’ vigil. I will probably be writing a blog all about this at some point, but it was outside a local slaughterhouse. The purpose of the vigil is to ‘bear witness’ to the pigs. We hope to stop some of the vans so that for just a moment, we can provide comfort to the pigs but also document it so people can see the reality behind their meat. It was a sad day but important to do and I’ll be doing it again.

Day 28

IMG_20160628_192338

Day 28 my random act of wildness was to watch the daisies in the garden to see how they change through the day. The top photo was at 11am and the second was at 7pm.

Day 29

IMG_20160629_135339

On day 29 I did some cloud watching. I thought it might be interesting to try to identify the type of cloud. I think this was ‘alto-cumulus’ but not sure!

Day 30

As today was the last day I thought I’d try to squeeze in as many ‘wild’ places as possible! I went to Prittle brook, Growing Together Westcliff Garden, Priory Park and Churchill Gardens. I spotted lots of wild life as you can see!

So before I started 30 days wild I did feel very connected to nature anyway but afterwards I feel even more connected! I started to learn more about the wildlife I see, including more names of things and I did some things I wouldn’t have thought to do before like looking underneath a log and watching where a bumblebee goes! I made even more of a point of going for walks and admiring what’s around me. It has reawakened my passion for activism again too!

This was a wonderful challenge that I’d tell everyone to do. It really helps you to see what magic there is around you and almost everything I did was free!

Now I pledge to Stay Wild and be wild 365 days a year 😀

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Eric Carlson (awolsurfer)

Building a Business While Still Having a Life...

