Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

Why I’m not an Angry Vegan…

on August 3, 2017

Recently I have felt inspired to write a blog about this.

I am a vegan and I have been vegan for eleven and a half years now. I am vegan primarily for animal rights reasons, as I truly believe animals are not here for our use, and all beings should be treated equally.

In all my time of being vegan I have met a lot of other vegans, vegetarians, and of course many many meat eaters, some who take pleasure in making sarcastic comments or asking what I would do in hypothetical scenarios which are extremely unlikely to happen. I’ve also met people who are simply curious and ask genuine questions and try to understand the choice I’ve made.

There is a certain type of vegan, some would say ‘militant’  , I would say ‘angry’.

An angry vegan often tends to have a very bitter world view, perhaps despising the human race, quite possibly may have cut all ties with anyone in their life who eats meat. Yells obscenities at anyone who doesn’t agree with them.

Now don’t get me wrong. They have got a right to be angry. The world is cruel. Animals suffer. Badly. and in all sorts of ways, from the meat and dairy industry, to animal “entertainment” to animal testing on cosmetics and medicine, to fur farming, hunting, I could go on and on. and Yes, all those things make me angry too.

I have been on many protests about almost all of those things and more. I haven’t so much recently but not because I don’t want to. I do believe protests and actions can make a huge difference, even if simply a passer by notices and it sparks something in them. To me, that is a small but great step to bringing a bit more compassion in the world. Protests are a great way to express the anger we feel.

I choose to protest but I choose not to be an Angry Vegan as part of my everyday life.

Why? Because for me veganism is about compassion.

Compassion is for ALL. So that means other humans as well as animals. I don’t believe that I will convince anyone else to be vegan by being angry with them. I want to show that you can be happy and healthy as vegan and I want to show that with my actions and my words. Yes I’ll certainly promote veganism where I can and I’ll discuss my points of view on my choices and animal rights issues. But there is no need for me to shout others down for not making the same choice as me. I’d rather show my choices by perhaps sharing food or talking about good organisations, by showing the positive sometimes not always the negative. That doesn’t mean I won’t share a petition or a video once in a while. I just choose to show compassion for ALL. Okay so maybe some of those people don’t show that same compassion. But my hope is that by always showing compassion to others, we can teach others to do the same, even if it does take time. There’s no need for me to fight.

so yes I’m very proud to be a non- angry, happy hippy vegan 🙂

 

One response to “Why I’m not an Angry Vegan…

  1. [ Smiles ] I am not an angry vegan either.

    I can relate well to your article!

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Eric Carlson (awolsurfer)

Building a Business While Still Having a Life...

