Moonlight Phoenix has risen

music, feminism, spirituality, words and more

An Open Letter to Southend

on October 24, 2017

To Southend

You have been my home for thirty three years but now I feel it is time for us to ‘break up’ and I need to move forward and spread my wings elsewhere.

I am grateful for all that I have achieved and all the people I have met during this time. I am grateful for the places here that have been important to me at various points of my life.

The schools I went to here, college and homes I’ve had. The high street which has been the backdrop of many a memory I’ve made here. I used to spend a lot of times with friends trawling around the highstreet, trying out lipbalms in the Body Shop or spending ages looking at all the candles and crystals when Spellbound existed. Going to the cinema.

Then of course there’s the seafront. Memories of walking up and down, eating strawberry laces and drinking slush puppies. Going to the arcades, winning sweets and printing out astrology compatibility reports from one of the machines. Going to what used to be Peter Pan’s and visiting the Crooked House and riding the Ferris Wheel. Seeing the fairytale creatures of the long gone but not forgotten Never Never Land. When I was a teenager and having my first experience of ‘cruising’ and not really understanding the concept of being in someone’s car and not going anywhere.

My family home. My grandparents. Both houses with many memories.

The events I’ve held here- the charity gigs at The Railway Hotel. The djing opportunties at The Kursaal and at Saks Underground.

The Alex for being the place to go to dance on a Friday or Saturday to grunge and metal. The later a little further in Rayleigh, the Pink Toothbrush, my very first memory of going while I wasn’t old enough and not being allowed in, feeling sorrowful as I could hear the sound of Blink 182 blaring out. Saks Underground, The Royal Hotel and the Railway Hotel not only for the gigs but for the vegan food! The Oaktree Market for a many a lovely meal and celebration.

The beautiful Priory Park, Prittle Brook and my favourite place the “secret” garden Churchill Gardens.

Here has been the foundation of my life. I have met so many people that have had huge influences on my life here and many that will continue to do so.

A piece of my heart will always be here and I will be back regularly.

It is not the time yet but the time is coming that it is time for us to move on. Friendships, connections and new beginnings are forming somewhere else.

I am stating my intent that we are ready to go now. With a heart full of gratitude I let this place go as the place I live although it will always be home.

Thank you for all that you have given me.

Hayley

xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

dontbeanostrich

if you bury your head in the sand to avoid the rain youll never see the rainbow when the sun shines again

ThriveTrue

May we Thrive True, Open, & Free in Harmony

The Genderfluid Experience

Not confused....just fluid!

Wandering Wives

A Comedy Lesbian Travel Blog

The Vegan Lily

Because My Body Will Not Be A Tomb For Animals

artemis muses

It's all about the hunt

The journey of eclectic pagan teen

my experience exploring my path of an eclectic pagan and spirtuality

Pagan Approach

Discussing spirituality and the secrets of the Universe

Hike Our Planet - @HikeOurPlanet

Lee Hiller Photography - Exploring Nature One Step At A Time

Katzenworld

Welcome to the world of cats!

Simply Marquessa

Life is just a story. And I've got a pen.

wisermonkeys

poetry, prose and occasional thoughts.

Southend Soup

Chat. Connect. Create.

Catherine Elms

Dark cabaret singer-songwriter and pianist from Swansea, UK

Maral Cavner

A Graduate of Emory University in Atlanta

Born to be Jetthead

It's not an obsession, it's a calling. :)

Spirituality Exploration Today

Delving into the cross roads of rationality and intuition

Eric Carlson (awolsurfer)

Building a Business While Still Having a Life...

